Private sector workers in Eastern Visayas will receive a wage increase between P10 and P25 a day starting February 13, Regional Tripartite Wage Productivity Board Chair Elias A. Cayanong announced yesterday.


“After a careful review of the socio-economic and other statistical data, and the results of the consultations and public hearing, we have seen the need to increase the minimum wage in the region, so we have the new wage order, which serves as our Valentines gift to our workers in the region,” Cayanong said.


RD Cayanong said that with the new wage order, workers in the non-agricultural sector should receive a basic pay of P278.00 and P7.00 COLA or a total of P285.00 per day upon effectivity of the new wage order.


The wage increase ranges between P10 to P25 depending on sectoral or industrial classifications.


“The increase in the basic daily wage shall be P25 for non-agriculture workers, P23 for sugar mills, P15 for cottage/handicraft; P10 for retail/service employing 10 workers and below, P15.00 for retail/service employing 11 up to 30 workers, P10 for agriculture non-sugar workers, and P10 for agriculture sugar farm workers,” Cayanong said.


All workers receiving the basic wage rates prescribed in the new wage order shall continue to receive the P7.00 Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) prescribed under Wage Order No. 17.


In the exercise of its wage-fixing function, the RTWPB initiated the sectoral wage consultations in Ormoc City and Catbalogan City, on August 10 and 23, 2016, respectively. The Board likewise carefully considered the inputs, positions and arguments presented by different sectors during the public hearing on October 12, 2016.


The Regional Tripartite Wage and Productivity Board in Region 8 issued Wage Order No. 19, which grants an increase in the basic wage of private sector workers in Eastern Visayas Region on December 19, 2016. This was affirmed by the National Wages and Productivity Commission on January 20, 2017,


The Regional Wage Board in Eastern Visayas is a tripartite body composed of six members, three representatives from the government, two from the workers sector and one from the employers sector.


The government sector representatives are DOLE Regional Director Elias A. Cayanong who serves as Chairperson, together with NEDA Regional Director Bonifacio G. Uy and DTI Regional Director Cynthia R. Nierras, as vice chairpersons. They are joined by Atty. Miguel Tezon of Trade Unions of the Philippines and Allied Services (TUPAS), and Efren M. Gabriola, President of LEYECO II Employees Union, as labor sector representatives; and former Leyte Chamber of Commerce and Industry President, Orlando C. Uy employer as sector representative.



Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry